Our History

Our original millstones, the foundation of our business, came with us from England all the way to North Carolina two centuries ago.

Few milling companies have been around as long as House-Autry. Our 200 years of experience have led to the ideal breading and mix lineup for every operation.

It all started back in 1812 when the House family migrated from England to Newton Grove, North Carolina. The millstones for the original mill were shipped across the Atlantic from England to Wilmington, North Carolina, and then ferried up the Cape Fear River and transported by oxcart and mule team to the original mill site in Newton Grove.

The House mill grew and eventually merged with the Autry Brothers Mill Company in 1967 to form what is now called House-Autry Mills. In 2001 we relocated our mill to a state-of-the-art facility in nearby Four Oaks, North Carolina.

For many years, our number one product was corn meal. Over the years we’ve added a number of traditionally seasoned breaders and coatings for chicken, seafood, pork, and other things (like vegetables). We’ve added hushpuppies, biscuit and cornbread mixes, sauces, and our Southern Baked product line. All our coatings are specially milled and mixed to cook up light, crispy and tasty. That’s one reason several of our products, such as our hushpuppy mix, are the best-selling brands in the entire country.

House-Autry products have grown to become available in thousands of grocery stores in 37 states. Our products are also being served through food service distributors, restaurants and restaurant chains throughout the country.

In 2012, House-Autry celebrated our 200th anniversary. It’s hard to believe, but House-Autry has been the choice of Southern cooks since 1812. That’s a long time! We’re proud to be a part of the Southern cooking tradition and we are grateful to you, our customer, for so many good years.